52 postcards - week 52, Stars

52 weeks, 52 postcards, 52 opportunities to be creative, 52 occasions to share. It’s been quite a journey and with any journey there are lows as well as highs. Moments of doubt and lack of inspiration, moments of great satisfaction and humbleness when postcards were received and appreciated. As the project developed, I became acutely aware how important being creative is important to me.

Star was created over the Christmas and New Year holidays. As I mentioned in week 51’s blog, I was down with a cold/flu bug and only travelling between my bedroom and the sitting room to slump on the sofa and watch the TV. On some days the sun would stream into the room and cast shadows on the walls. As the sun moved round the room it hit a small metal and bejewelled Christmas tree that we put out each year. Paul, my husband, had spotted the shadow the day before and taken a photo himself. In need of an image myself, and not wanting to venture out, I waited for the next sunny day and made a few images. So with hand on heart, I can’t claim that the idea for the image is entirely my own!

Week 52’s recipient is, Paul. Throughout this project and for all my photography he’s been a great support. 2015 will see lots of exciting changes for both of us, a complete change of lifestyle. Later in the year, we’re moving from the UK to Languedoc in the South of France. The move is both exciting and terrifying in equal measure. Much of my creative energy will have to be put into the move over the next few months, so this blog may not see much of my photography, but I will try to update when I can.

Thank you for your interest and support for 52 postcards during 2014. Go out and be creative in 2015, be it with a camera, pen, sewing machine or paint brush, it doesn’t matter what you do, it’s that you do it that’s important and so so rewarding and enriching.

