52 postcards – week 47, Last leaves of autumn

Autumn is one of my favourite times of year. The richness of the changing colours makes it one of the most dynamic times of the natural year. Capturing this kaleidoscope of colours can be tricky, particularly in bright light, when the contrasts between light and shadow are extreme. So dull is best, making the colours sing out. Dull and wet, that’s another challenge. But dull and wet were the conditions I had on a ‘non-volunteering day’ visit to Wakehurst. It was also bitterly cold. All in all, hardly ideal conditions for getting the camera out.

However, once I started to look there were opportunities everywhere. The tree bark, wetted by the rain, stood out against the back drop of yellow, green, red and brown leaves. Moss was brightened by the water it had soaked up. Raindrops formed on the end of branches and twigs. The dull light made the leaves glow. The light was very low and I should have used a tripod, but the wet and the cold made me lazy, so instead, I increased the ISO to higher than I would have liked and hand-held the camera. Photography is all about light and even ‘poor’ light can produce colour and vibrance.

Week 47’s recipient is Patti Blaine. Patti is one of the four talented photographers from America with whom I completed my 365 project with in 2008. Like the others, Patti has continued to give support and show interest in my photographic journey. As well as being a photographer, she is also a talented knitter and fibre artist. You can see her work on her blog, Every Fibre of My Being.

