52 postcards - week 44, Adur Ferry Bridge Impression

There are five bridges crossing the River Adur in Shoreham-by-Sea. As the tidal river meanders its way along the western boundary of the town and out to the sea, it passes under the large concrete viaduct of the A27 trunk road, the recently restored wooden Toll Bridge, the railway bridge, the Norfolk Bridge carrying the A259 coast road and the newly opened Adur Ferry bridge which links the beach with the town for pedestrians and cyclists. I’ve created images of three of the bridges (weeks 9, 23 and 44).

For each of the images I’ve used a blurring technique. As I’ve said in an earlier post, I’m enjoying this approach to image creation. I’m using the camera as a tool to produce something closer to an impressionist painting than a traditional photograph. With images of three bridges now complete, my aim is to capture the remaining two bridges by the end of this project. I’ve already scouted the locations and have some ideas on how to best produce a blurred image of each. So watch this space.

Week 44’s recipient is Inge van Leipsig from the Netherlands. I’ve exchanged postcards with Inge throughout the year. I love her pinhole images, a technique I’d like to try one day.

