A nod to Mondrian

Finding inspiration comes from many places; other photographers, film, music and other visual arts. While I will spend hours browsing through photo books and on the web looking at other photographer’s work, I know that I don’t spend enough time getting inspiration from other media. As I currently have the luxury of time this is something I mean to address.

At the end of May I visited Margate with some photo chums. While there, we visited the Turner Contemporary gallery by the harbour. This modern gallery is currently hosting an exhibition on Mondrian, Mondrian and Colour. I have to confess that if asked before seeing the exhibition what Mondrian’s style was, I would have answered ‘Big, bold blocks of colour’. So when I didn’t see this at the start of the exhibit I was confused. Was there another Mondrian I didn’t know about or had I got the names confused? The answer to both was no. This was the Mondrian I thought I knew, but it started with his early work and progressed through his career to the large graphic images I knew. Seeing this progression was fascinating and it made me think how my own style as a photographer has changed over the years.

After finishing at the gallery, we popped over to Broadstairs, a complete contrast to Margate, only a few kilometres away. The small sandy cove is ringed by both conventional beach huts and some double-decker ones set into the cliff. It was these beach huts that caught my eye. The bold, blocks of colour immediately reminded me of Mondrian.

The recipient for week 21 is my friend and former work colleague, Mark Boyd. As well as a writer and potter, Mark is also a talented artist. Like Mondrian, his illustrations and painting have developed over the years. He now produces beautiful, bold abstractions of birds. Taking the essential essence of the bird and refining it to simple shapes and colours. Unbeknown to me when I sent the postcard, was the influence that Mondrian has had on his work and this includes his own homage on his garage door! Mark doesn’t have a website or Flickr stream, but you can see some of his work here.

Mark Boyd's homage to Mondrian

