One of the advantages of not working at the moment is that I have time. Time to spend doing things that I really enjoy and time to do things I haven’t done before. This week I was able to combine something I enjoy, photography, with something new, dog photography. On Tuesday I spent the afternoon with Rhian White of Brighton Dog Photography, her dog Boo and two other clients. Rhian is a talented dog photographer and she regularly runs workshops in and around Brighton.

As most of my photography is intimate landscape and detail, this was way out of my comfort zone. Normally my subjects are static or some may sometimes sway gently in the breeze so trying to capture a small running, jumping and bouncing subject with a mind of her own was a real challenge. With Rhian’s tuition I learnt so much about the basics of photographing dogs but there’s still so much to learn. First I need to find some willing models to practice on. Here are my top three take home tips from the workshop:

1. Point of view – either get down low at dog level or shoot from above. These angles are much more interesting.
2. Don’t always fill the frame – sometimes less is more. Showing the dog in context to its surroundings can tell more of a story than a full frame portrait.
3. It’s behind you – look for interesting and quirky backgrounds – something that will make the dog stand out or perhaps even blend in.
4. And one final thing – be patient and always put the dog first. If they’re not having fun and feeling relaxed, you won’t either.

I’m lucky enough to be able to attend Rhian’s advanced workshop in a couple of week’s time. This will all about action shots, so even more running, jumping and bouncing.

Boo from Brighton Dog Photography

Boo from Brighton Dog Photography

Yellow labrador, Hove

