52 postcards - week 13, Alcudia

After weeks 11 and 12 postcards going missing or not being acknoweledged, I was hoping that week 13 would be the lucky one; and so it proved. My image of a street in Alcúdia arrived in Australia this week. The recipient, Ann Cameron, is a contact from my more active days on Flickr. She has regularly commented on my images. You can see her images on Flickr here.

I made this image of a street in Alcúdia on the Spanish island of Mallorca, while on holiday a couple of weeks ago. The old walled town is a fascinating, typical southern European town. It was market day when I visited and I could have been tempted to make images of the bustling market, with stalls full of colourful fruit and vegetables, leather goods and beads, but this didn’t appeal. I like to explore the quieter areas of towns and villages, off the beaten tourist track. Aimless wandering brought me to the bottom of this small street. It’s typical of many of the residential streets in the old town and I was drawn by the lines. As the scene seems, to me, quite timeless, I’ve given it an old postcard treatment in post processing.

