52 postcards - week 6, To the sea

Waiting to hear if a postcard has arrived is sometimes like waiting for a bus, you wait for ages and then two or three come along at the same time. This week was just like that. As week 5 was sent to the USA, I knew it would take a while to hear. As Week’s 6 postcard was sent closer to home, to Juliette Wiles in London, I knew I’d probably have a double postcard blog post this week.

I met Juliette on my trip to Bhutan in 2012. Juliette is an excellent photographer and I’ve been lucky enough to go to her two recent London exhibitions. Her latest, of images from her trip to China, was particularly memorable. You can see Juliette’s work at her website,
J M Wiles Photography.

Week 6’s postcard, To the sea, is another black and white image. Looking back over the last six weeks, I see that I’ve produced more black and white than colour images. It wasn’t planned that way, but the subject matter has been best interpreted in black and white. For this image, I’ve produced my first ‘behind the scenes’ video. This shows the conversion of the RAW file to the black and white image. The video is an experiment and probably a little long and has no commentary, so I won’t be offended if you nod off or hit the stop button!

52 postcards – image conversion from RAW file to black and white JPEG from Liz Outhwaite on Vimeo.

