52 postcards - week 5, Into the light

A major part of my 52 postcards project is to share my images, in the form a print, with others and I love it when I hear that the postcard has arrived. Week 5’s postcard, Into the light, was sent to Sarah Mackenzie in Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA. I came to know Sarah in 2008 when we were both doing a 365 photo a day project. It was so encouraging to share that creative journey with others and Sarah was both an inspiration and support. As well as being a talented photographer, Sarah is also a knitter and regularly blogs at Sheepless in Rhode Island.

Into the light was taken on Worthing Pier on 1 February 2014. It was a very windy but sunny day and I spent a couple of hours walking along the seafront making images. Due to the strong light and sharp shadows I decided that converting the image to black and white produced a stronger image.

