I’ve recently joined my local camera club (Brighton and Hove). It’s an active group with a really diverse membership. Next week I’m entering a couple of images into my first competition. It’s the B or entry group, so the competition isn’t as rigorous and the judging also involves useful feedback and critique. 

Up to now I haven’t printed many of my images. As next week’s competition is print only I’ve spent today trawling through my library trying to select something worthy of entering. It’s not been easy. I have far too many average images which need weeding out and once printed I’ve found they take on a different quality and I’ve been doubting their worth. 

I have selected a couple. Not the ones I originally had in mind, but this will really be a suck and see experience and I have nothing to lose. 

 

 

The first is Urban Jungle. I spotted these trees while walking along the Thames south bank  in the City of London. I’m relatively happy with the composition and colours, but would like the lighting to have made the image pop a bit more.

Urban Jungle
Urban Jungle

 

The second is Peace. I caught this one on a Brittany Ferries ship last summer. The life belt  makes a striking shadow on the deck. I like the strong colours in this one. The colour of the sea has come out rather differently to the onscreen image. 

 

Peace
Peace

